Old Brown Water Keep on Rollin’

British Berkefeld Water Filter

Isn’t she a beauty ? By far, she is the best island investment ever. No more hauling gallon jugs to campus for filling, no more wasting money on bottled water, no more concern over not having enough water for hurricane season, no more floating particles in my iced tea.  I can’t tell you how much simpler my life just got. This water filtration system is worth every penny. It has ceramic filters (impregnated with silver, an anti-microbial agent) which you clean by scrubbing them with water and a sponge–avoiding the endless money pit of replacing the filter every few weeks for the life of the product. Dirt, parasites, and 99.9 % of bacteria are filtered out. You can check out the specs here.  Bring on the brown water Dominica, I’m armed and dangerous.

About louisiana2dominica

Native New Orleanian relocated to the island of Dominica.
This entry was posted in Daily Life in Dominica and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Old Brown Water Keep on Rollin’

  1. Tina Alexander says:

    lifeline@cwdom.dm or lifelinedominica@hotmail.com should get through!

    TIna

  2. Chloe says:

    I tried that email address and it doesn’t work. Are they still located on the island?

  3. Tina Alexander says:

    My e mail is lifeline@cwdom.dm and number 1 767 2358367 for water filters of all types. the portable British berkfield one illustrated above and also inline one for showers and taps that have to be plumbed in. Some landlords have given permission to install them. Dr Hawleys husband is very kind and delivers for us when he is passing.

  4. Emily says:

    Do you have a current contact for purchasing this filter? Email address would be preferred. Thanks for your blog posts btw, they are super informative.

  5. many thanks for sending me two customers! Any filter bought from us helps to support our charity Lifeline, working with families at a disadvantage. We are based in Roseau but Dr Hawley’s husband has agreed to be water filter courier, so people can pay by credit card and have it waiting for them on arrival!

  6. Ben says:

    Thanks! I’m a big fan of this page!

  7. Gary says:

    I am starting in May and I love your website! Can I ask where you purchased this wonderful water filter? I definitely will get one when I get there. I really appreciate your time to help us “newbies”.

  8. Emmz says:

    Hey, have you had brown water issues with the shower? I don’t know if this is just an issue with “downhill” apartments either. I’m not on Dominica, I will be in January, but I read about it on some post somewheres.

    • Good timing. You caught me online. Yes, the water in the showers does turn brown as well. The only trend I have noticed is that when we lived in a lower level apartment, the water was browner more often than it is in our current upper level apartment in the same building. Not sure about the physics of the whole thing. I think the brown water is inescapable no matter where you live because it comes from the river, the main water source for our area.

      Usually the brown water clears in a short amount of time, unless there is bad weather in the Atlantic dumping rain for several days in a row. Only once have I had to use bottled water in the shower. Usually, I just have to delay taking a shower for a few hours till the water clears. Once you are here for a while you get in a routine. When you know heavy rain is coming you jump in the shower, do the dishes, and make sure you have water set aside for brushing teeth etc.

  9. Heather says:

    Hey, sounds like life will be a lot easier now! I remember hauling around those jugs of water and not having water after days of brown water! I hope things are going well down there.. we’re still waiting to hear where we will end up. But first we have to get in his immunization paperwork …

Leave a Reply

