Avocado Season = Black Bean Salsa

Avocado Tree

Yeah! It’s finally avocado season.  Avocados are not available all year round here but they are in full bloom right now. Dominica is the first place I have actually seen what an avocado tree looks like. There are a couple of different varieties of avocado here-some have smooth skin, some are dimpled. They taste equally delicious to me. One of the varieties actually turns from green to purplish as it ripens, and some just get soft with no change in color, so you have to keep an eye on them. Avocados at market are about 2 EC each (0.75 cents US). At the shacks you may pay up to 4-5 EC per avocado (1.50-1.85 US) depending upon the size. One difference between the avocados here and avocados I am used to in the US is that the avocados here are HUGE! 

So with avocado season comes my favorite appetizer/side dish, black bean salsa. Here’s the recipe if you want to try it…sorry I don’t have exact measurements I just kind of wing it when I get in the kitchen. Prep time is only about 15 minutes.

 
1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
1 can corn (drained and rinsed)
1/2 – 1 onion (red or white) diced
1 tomato diced
1 avocado diced
cilantro chopped (add quantity of your liking)
1-2 cloves of garlic
Cajun seasoning – a few shakes (optional y’all)
Lite Italian dressing – lightly pour over vegetables and stir (the original recipe actually recommends letting the vegetables marinate in a half bottle of Italian dressing overnight and then draining the vegetables the next morning. It tastes really good that way but I just make it easier here by eliminating that step).
 
Serve the black bean salsa chilled and with tortilla chips. Yum! By the way, am I the only one who misses Tex-Mex ? We need to get some serious queso around here.
About louisiana2dominica

Native New Orleanian relocated to the island of Dominica.
This entry was posted in Food in Dominica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avocado Season = Black Bean Salsa

  1. Joyce Busch says:

    The dish looks absolutely delicious…I can’t wait to try it….Just had some fish tacos and and fresh salsa for dinner tonight…
    I grew up in Los Angeles and my grandmother had an avocado tree…I use to go door to door selling them..LOL…

    Also, off topic…Do I need to buy all the books required and recommended on the booklist…?

    • Re: should you buy all the books?…I would post that one on ValueMD so you can get a lot of input and different points of view.

      Now re: growing up in LA I have to ask you if you are a fan of all the Korean BBQ and hot pot restaurants out there ? I need some good Asian recipes.

Leave a Reply

