Tabooli

So, I decided to try to tackle making tabooli on the 4th of July this year, after barbecue madness of course. Bizarre, I know. I had some bulgur wheat that was about to expire and I didn’t want it to go to waste. I first got exposed to tabooli at Byblos, a Mediterranean restaurant, right outside of New Orleans. I am certainly no expert in how tabooli is supposed to taste, or how to spell it for that matter, but I wanted to try something new.  I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about bulgur and now that IGA Picard is carrying it, I thought I’d give it a whirl.

I used the tabooli recipe that was on the back of the Hodgson Mill bulgur box. Here is the recipe as it appears on their website:

Tabooli

1-1/2 cups dry HODGSON MILL BULGUR WHEAT WITH SOY CEREAL
1-1/2 cups boiling water
1 bunch green onion
1 green pepper
1 cucumber
3 tomatoes, peeled and seeded
1 bunch parsley

Cover  bulgur with hot water. Soak at least 2 hours. This can be done in the refrigerator. Drain excess water and squeeze reconstituted Bulgur. (Okay I altered this step a little. Since I am not that used to cooking with bulgur, I took a friend’s advice to soak the bulgur in an organic reduced sodium chicken broth instead of water in order to add some flavor.)

Chop all vegetables very fine. (Using a food processor is the way to go if you have it. I had doubled the recipe so I could use most of the box of bulgur. It still seemed to take a long time to prepare, even with the food processor. I also added some fresh garlic and basil here).

Mix vegetables with reconstituted Bulgur wheat.

Dressing: ½ cup vegetable or olive oil; ½ cup lemon juice; 1 tsp. salt.
Pour over wheat/vegetable mixture and refrigerate.

Let stand for 2 hours before serving. This dish keeps very well in the refrigerator.

What I liked about this recipe is that it is as fresh as you can get. Tabooli is the kind of food that leaves you feeling energized instead of lethargic. I enjoyed the tabooli by itself but I served it with pita chips and warm pita bread for the sake of guests.

If there are any tabooli connoisseurs out there, I’d love some feedback on the recipe above and what works for you.

About louisiana2dominica

Native New Orleanian relocated to the island of Dominica.
This entry was posted in Cooking in Dominica, Food in Dominica. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

